Research & careers
PhD opportunities in pharmacy & pharmaceutical sciences
Explore India and abroad, compare funding conditions, and apply through the original institution. Only reviewed listings are published; unconfirmed opportunities stay private.
An admission call, a funded research position and a separate scholarship are different opportunities. Pills & Python does not award degrees or scholarships or guarantee selection.
Reviewed opportunities
Check the official announcement before applying. Deadlines, eligibility and funding can change after the verification date.
10 open opportunities shown.
CU Anschutz Toxicology PhD — Fall 2027
University of Colorado Anschutz, Skaggs School of Pharmacy · PhD admission
Molecular toxicology, pharmacology, neurotoxicology and immunotoxicology
Research PhD admission for Fall 2027, open since 1 September 2026. Research examines toxic effects of therapeutic agents and environmental chemicals. The admission call is verified; financial-support terms require individual confirmation.
- Eligibility
- Accredited Bachelor's in arts/science, normally GPA at least 3.0, specified science/mathematics preparation, recommendations and English requirements. Indian/overseas transcripts require WES evaluation. GRE is optional. Academic equivalence and programme suitability are assessed individually; a mandatory own fellowship is not listed.
- Funding & conditions
- Funding remains unconfirmed: the same page says good-standing PhD students are guaranteed support but also says stipend, tuition and fees are the student's sole responsibility. Payments are conditional on progress and training; stipends use a 12-month basis. Amount/currency, gross/net basis and total support years are not stated. Obtain a written award clarification; this is not a fully-funded listing.
- Application deadline
- 1 December 2026 for Fall 2027. Exact closing time/timezone not stated.Published date (closing time/timezone not stated):
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
CU Anschutz Pharmaceutical Sciences PhD — Fall 2027
University of Colorado Anschutz, Skaggs School of Pharmacy · PhD admission
Pharmaceutical biotechnology, formulation and drug delivery
Research PhD admission for Fall 2027, open since 1 September 2026. Training focuses on biopharmaceutical development, formulation and delivery. Admission is competitive; programme length is not the same as an individual funding guarantee.
- Eligibility
- Accredited Bachelor's in arts/science, normally GPA at least 3.0, and specified chemistry, biology, calculus, English and physics preparation. Indian/overseas transcripts require WES evaluation; English testing/exemption rules apply. GRE is optional. Relevant pharmacy backgrounds are welcomed; equivalence is assessed individually.
- Funding & conditions
- Current page states admission includes a stipend awarded on a 12-month basis and support for PhD students in good standing. Stipend/tuition/fees payments depend on satisfactory progress and required teaching/training activities; policies may be adjusted. Amount/currency, gross/net basis and guaranteed total years are not stated. Confirm the complete written offer; no fully-funded label is applied here.
- Application deadline
- 1 December 2026 for Fall 2027. Exact closing time/timezone not stated.Published date (closing time/timezone not stated):
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
UBC Pharmaceutical Sciences PhD — September 2027
University of British Columbia, Vancouver · PhD admission
Drug discovery, pharmacology, nanomedicine, chemical biology and health outcomes
Research PhD admission for September 2027. Applications opened 1 October 2026. Applicants identify faculty interests; prior supervisor commitment is not required by the programme listing. Admission remains competitive.
- Eligibility
- Indian credentials normally require Bachelor's plus Master's or MPhil; the India page lists first-class/65% or 8/10, with programme standards potentially higher. English rules apply; IELTS Academic 7.0 with 6.5 each is listed. GRE is not required. Country source: https://www.grad.ubc.ca/country/india .
- Funding & conditions
- Current minimum funding for full-time PhD students is CAD 40,000/year in years 1–4, subject to progress and funding policy. This is not tuition-free net living income: tuition/fees remain payable. Amounts beyond year four and the exact composition of an individual's package vary. Source: https://pharmsci.ubc.ca/programs/msc-phd-degrees/tuition-funding-and-awards . Do not use historical median awards as a guaranteed offer.
- Application deadline
- Application/transcripts: 15 January 2027. Referees: 29 January 2027. Exact closing time/timezone not stated.Published date (closing time/timezone not stated):
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
University of Florida Pharmaceutical Sciences PhD — Fall 2027
University of Florida College of Pharmacy · PhD admission
Pharmaceutical sciences and drug discovery, development and use
On-campus PhD admission for Fall 2027; spring and summer applications are not considered. Applicants select a concentration and submit the graduate application and programme-specific supplemental questions.
- Eligibility
- International applicants, including Indians, can apply with appropriate degree credentials assessed by UF. English proof is required subject to official exemptions; the college lists TOEFL 80 or IELTS 6.5, and does not accept Duolingo. GRE is not reviewed. Exact academic equivalence/minimum GPA must be checked for the chosen concentration; do not infer eligibility from nationality alone.
- Funding & conditions
- Official FAQ says admitted PhD students receive assistantship/fellowship support covering tuition, student fees and health insurance, with annual stipend minimum USD 35,000 (USD 38,000 for an ACPE-accredited PharmD). No separate funding application. Renewal/total funding years and gross/net basis are not stated here. Confirm the award in the admission offer. Sources: official FAQ and Funding Opportunities pages linked from the announcement.
- Application deadline
- 1 December 2026 for Fall 2027. Exact closing time/timezone not stated.Published date (closing time/timezone not stated):
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
Howard Pharmaceutical Sciences PhD — Fall 2027 early/funding deadline
Howard University · PhD admission
Medicinal chemistry, pharmaceutics, pharmacokinetics and pharmacy administration
Full-time research PhD admission for Fall 2027. The early deadline is important for competitive assistantship consideration; applicants may continue to the later published admission deadlines. Funding selection is separate from admission.
- Eligibility
- Accredited Bachelor's degree or international equivalent, GPA at least 3.0, relevant scientific background, statements, CV, transcripts and three recommendations. Indian applicants are subject to international credential/English rules. GRE is not required. Consult individual assistantship eligibility before seeking an award.
- Funding & conditions
- Competitive assistantships require a separate funding application by the early deadline. Funding is not guaranteed. Amount/currency, coverage and duration depend on the particular award and are not confirmed in this listing. Do not infer that every award is open to every international applicant. Source: https://gs.howard.edu/graduate-school-competitive-awards
- Application deadline
- 15 November 2026: Fall 2027 early/competitive-assistantship deadline. Later admission deadlines: 15 February and 15 April 2027. Exact cutoff time/timezone not confirmed.Published date (closing time/timezone not stated):
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
University of Toronto Pharmaceutical Sciences PhD — Fall 2027
University of Toronto, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy · PhD admission
Biomolecular, clinical and social pharmaceutical sciences
Research PhD admission for Fall 2027. Applications opened 25 September 2026. A suitable graduate supervisor must be secured before an admission offer is finalised; selection and international capacity are competitive.
- Eligibility
- Relevant Master's with minimum B+ (77%) or direct-entry four-year degree with A− (80%) in relevant senior courses and undergraduate research. Indian/international credentials are assessed for equivalence. GRE at least 50th percentile is required when the admitting degree is outside recognised Canadian/US universities; English rules apply. Check current international supervisor instructions before applying.
- Funding & conditions
- Current policy supports eligible full-time students; self-funding is not permitted. Support lasts up to four years after MSc or five years for direct-entry/qualifying transfer, subject to good standing. Published 2026–27 international PhD base CAD 42,068.46 comprises tuition CAD 9,570.39 and living allowance CAD 32,498.07; 2027–28 rates are unknown. Source: https://www.pharmacy.utoronto.ca/programs/graduate-department-pharmaceutical-sciences/financial-support-graduate-students
- Application deadline
- 14 December 2026 for Fall 2027. Exact closing time/timezone not stated.Published date (closing time/timezone not stated):
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
Ohio State Pharmaceutical Sciences PhD — Autumn 2027
The Ohio State University · PhD admission
Medicinal chemistry, pharmacognosy, pharmaceutics, pharmacology and translational outcomes
Research PhD admission for Autumn 2027 with specialisations spanning drug discovery, drug delivery and pharmaceutical outcomes. Applicants do not need a faculty-advisor commitment or a preceding MS application.
- Eligibility
- Relevant four-year Bachelor's degree/equivalent and minimum GPA 3.0, with transcripts, statement, CV and three references. International/Indian applicants may apply subject to credential and English requirements. GRE is optional. A mandatory own fellowship is not listed.
- Funding & conditions
- Most students receive tuition, stipend and health-insurance support; funding is not universal. Published 2026–27 GTA/GRA minimum is USD 3,005/month, not a guaranteed Autumn 2027 rate. Appointment, progress and departmental conditions apply; exact future duration and gross/net basis are not stated. See the official admissions page's Financial Support section.
- Application deadline
- 1 December 2026 for Autumn 2027. Exact closing time/timezone not stated.Published date (closing time/timezone not stated):
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
University of Washington Pharmaceutics PhD — Autumn 2027
University of Washington, Seattle · PhD admission
Drug delivery, metabolism, pharmacokinetics and pharmacometrics
Research PhD admission for Autumn 2027, with domestic and international applications open from 1 October 2026. Research spans drug disposition and delivery, quantitative pharmacology and drug interactions. Admission and individual financial support are not guaranteed to applicants.
- Eligibility
- Relevant biological/related-science four-year Bachelor's degree, GPA greater than 3.0, specified college mathematics, research experience and English proficiency. Indian applicants use the international route, subject to qualification equivalence and visa documentation. GRE is recommended, not required. Mandatory own fellowship is not stated.
- Funding & conditions
- Tuition and stipend are supported for the majority of PhD students throughout training, not universally. Amount/currency, gross/net basis, exact duration and additional-fee coverage are not stated. Funding source: https://sop.washington.edu/department-of-pharmaceutics/graduate-education-training-programs/phd-program/
- Application deadline
- Applications: 1 December 2026; recommendations: 21 December 2026; international English scores: 31 December 2026. Closing times/timezones not stated.Published date (closing time/timezone not stated):
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
King's College London / LIDo iCASE — targeted antifungal antibody–drug conjugates
King's College London with LIDo DTP, University of Aberdeen and Brigid Bio · Doctoral research position
Antifungal therapeutics, peptide chemistry and antibody–drug conjugates
A four-year industrial-collaborative doctoral project investigating targeted antibody–drug conjugates that neutralise candidalysin in Candida albicans infection. Training combines fungal pathogenesis, peptide/medicinal chemistry and antibody therapeutics. Application and international funding selection are competitive; a place or award is not guaranteed.
- Eligibility
- A first/high upper-second-class relevant honours degree or equivalent, or relevant Master's, with numeracy/computing evidence and adequate English. LIDo lists IELTS 7.0 overall with 6.5 per component as its good level, or accepted English education/work evidence. Indian/international applicants can apply; overseas-fee awards are limited. No own fellowship is mandatory if an appropriate studentship is awarded.
- Funding & conditions
- Competitive studentship route, not guaranteed funding for every offer. LIDo publishes a current UKRI London stipend of GBP 23,805/year. Up to seven international awards across DTP and iCASE cover full overseas tuition; allocation is competitive and partner-specific. The programme lasts four years. Visa and relocation costs are not covered. Confirm the project-specific award and stipend terms in the offer; gross/net basis is not stated here. Official funding/eligibility terms: https://www.lido-dtp.ac.uk/apply
- Application deadline
- 1 December 2026, 17:00 UK time (GMT; 17:00 UTC). iCASE deadline verified at https://www.lido-dtp.ac.uk/apply .Exact cutoff:
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
NUS Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences PhD — Singapore
National University of Singapore (NUS) · PhD admission
Pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences
Research-based PhD admission route with August and January intakes. Applications are accepted year-round; submissions after an intake cutoff are considered for the next relevant intake. This is a general admission route, not confirmation of a particular laboratory vacancy or a funded place. Admission and scholarship selection are separate and neither is guaranteed.
- Eligibility
- Relevant Bachelor's and/or Master's degree and ability to undertake research. Indian applicants may apply through the international route; NUS assesses degree equivalence. GRE/GATE scores are strongly encouraged; Indian applicants may submit GATE instead of GRE. TOEFL/IELTS is required where the undergraduate medium of instruction was not English. No mandatory own-fellowship requirement is stated. Check the official page for full documents and English requirements.
- Funding & conditions
- Funding is not guaranteed with admission. Applicants may request consideration for the competitive NUS Research Scholarship within their admission application. Current terms for international PhD awardees: SGD 3,000/month stipend, increasing by SGD 500/month after the qualifying examination, plus full tuition waiver. Typical/maximum support is four years; initially one year, then semester renewals subject to satisfactory progress and NUS discretion. Graduate-assistantship duties apply. Published rates are effective 1 January 2026, not a guaranteed 2027 offer; gross/net basis and other-fee coverage are not stated. Scholarship source: https://nusgs.nus.edu.sg/scholarships/nus-research-scholarship
- Application deadline
- Year-round applications. August intake: 15 November of preceding year (15 Nov 2026 for Aug 2027, derived from annual rule); January intake: 15 May of preceding year. Exact cutoff time/timezone not stated.
Last verified: · Reviewed by Pills & Python — AI-assisted official-source check
Official discovery sources
These are discovery portals, not a claim that a particular programme is currently open or funded. Verify each institution's advertisement and whether Indian applicants are eligible.
- NIPER — official admissions and research notices
- EURAXESS — research positions and funding
- DAAD PhDGermany — doctoral opportunities